Week 12

Week 12: Individual Rube Goldberg Set-Ups

This week’s blog sheet will be individual but you will post it on your group blog. Your individual Rube Goldberg (RG) setup should satisfy the following:
1. Use at least 2 of the following components:
     a.Transistor
     b. OPAMP
     c. Relay
     d. Temperature sensor
     e. Photosensor
     f. Motor
     g. Display
     h. Strain gauge
     i. Speaker
     j. Microphone
     k. Solar panel
 
2.Use a new circuit: It can be a modification to one of our lab circuits.
 
3. Let your system complete its task in no shorter than 10 seconds.
 
4. Make sure you are compatible with your preceding and following RG stage.

Mason:

1. Provide the computer drawing for your individual RG setup.
 Screenshot 2016-04-12 at 11.11.57 PM.png
2. Explain your setup.
     1. A stopper is pulled, allowing either a bouncy ball or a mass attached to a spring to fall on the strain gauge repeatedly
     2. The positive voltage from the gauge goes through the diode and charges a capacitor and an op-amp in parallel
     3. As the ball/mass falls repeatedly, the capacitor will gradually charge. The op-amp’s output is attached to the first pin of the relay; with a gain of approximately 10 the capacitor needs around .5-.7 Volts to trigger the relay.
     4. When the relay is triggered, it should send voltage to Austin’s setup and the group section.
3. Provide photos of the circuit and setup.
 IMG_2602
4. Provide at least 2 videos of your setup in action, one being a failed attempt.
 
5. What failures did you have? How did you overcome them?
 Unfortunately I couldn’t overcome the first problem I ran into. I need to rethink my setup for week 13, and find something more reliable. I think I may do more moving parts to add more flair to my part of the Rube Goldberg.

Austin:

1. Provide the computer drawing for your individual RG setup.
 Austin's Circuit
2. Explain your setup.
 I will receive a 5V signal from Mason that goes through a resistor and into a capacitor that charges slowly. As the capacitor voltage increases, it begins to turn on the LED, which in turn changes the resistance of the NPN transistor, activating the motor, which will pull a string to activate a cannon of some sort. It will do this through a gear reduction gear box. I am the last step for our group, so the next group can either use the force of the cannon or the voltage as the start of their sequence.
3. Provide photos of the circuit and setup.
 20160406_084308
4. Provide at least 2 videos of your setup in action, one being a failed attempt.
5. What failures did you have? How did you overcome them?
 The motor was not receiving enough current, so I had to switch the order of the resistor and light sensor because the light sensors resistance decreased as it lit up, rather than increasing as I had previously thought. The input voltage to my circuit needed to be increased to ensure the motor spins when it is supposed to. This left me with a very small margin of error, so I think that I am going to add an Op-amp to amplify the voltage to the motor, giving us a much higher margin of error, which is something that is needed to ensure consistent results.

Collin:

1. Provide the computer drawing for your individual RG setup.
2. Explain your setup.
3. Provide photos of the circuit and setup.
4. Provide at least 2 videos of your setup in action, one being a failed attempt.
5. What failures did you have? How did you overcome them?
8 thoughts on “Week 12

  1. Collin, I am sure you will come up with a great idea!
    Mason, idea is very cool. I wish you had more content.
    Austin, have your cannon ball idea to reflect in your drawing as well.

    Like

  2. Way to go Austin! Looks like your setup is coming along very nicely. I’m excited about this cannon ball idea. Mason, I think the bouncy ball is a very creative way to charge a capacitor.

    Like

  3. Good ideas. However, I think Mason has a problem with his RB. It’s really hard to control the whole parts. And could you guys show us more information? Maybe you forgot to upload videos.

    Like

  4. Nice work. i love your idea. However, i think Mason’s RG is really hard since some stuff you want to use in your RG is really hard to control. I am really appreciate you can solve all the questions.

    Like

  5. Very cool idea Mason, I pondered a strain gauge as well but couldn’t think of how I would keep hitting it to charge the capacitor. It sounds like you have something very cool in store for us.

    Like

  6. Mason, I really like your idea for the strain gauge to charge the capacitor, I had considered that at one point but wasn’t sure how I would get the ball to keep bouncing on the strain gauge. I’m curious to see how it works.

    Like

    1. Looks very interesting, I cant wait to see it all working. I do really like the idea of using the strain gauge to charge the capacitor as well. Very curious to see how that will work out.

      Like

Leave a Reply

